HomeLifestyle FashionCyclone Remal is intensifying and is expected to make landfall by Sunday...

Cyclone Remal is intensifying and is expected to make landfall.cms

The first cyclone on Bay of Bengal In the pre-monsoon season, Hurricane Remalwith Sagar Island in West Bengal BangladeshSunday midnight at Khepupara. The deep depression turned into a cyclonic storm on Saturday evening.
“It is expected to continue moving almost northward until midnight today as a Severe Cyclonic Storm on 26 May 2024, further intensify and pass over Bangladesh and the adjacent West Bengal coast between Sagar Island and Khepupara, near southwest Mongla (Bangladesh) It is very likely that the maximum sustained wind speed is 110-120 km/h, with gusts up to 135 km/h. India Meteorological Department warned.

States likely to be affected by Hurricane Remal

Due to the impact of Cyclone Remal, some parts of Odisha will receive light to moderate rainfall and heavy rainfall is expected in North Coastal Odisha. “Light to moderate rainfall at most places, heavy to very heavy rainfall at isolated places in Mizoram, Tripura and Southern Manipur on 26th and Assam, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Mizoram, Manipur and Tripura on 27th and 28th May In its statement, IMD stated that isolated extremely heavy rains (≥ 20 cm) are likely in Assam, Meghalaya on 27 and 28 May, Arunachal Pradesh on 28 May and Mizoram and Tripura on 27 May.

Fishermen were advised not to swim until May 27.

How was the hurricane named?

Cyclone Remal was named by Oman according to the standard naming convention. tropical cyclones in the region. Remal means sand in Arabic.
Tropical cyclones are named by six Regional Specialized Meteorological Centers (RSMC) and five Tropical Cyclone Warning Centers (TCWC); India Meteorological Department (IMD) is one of the RSMCs.
The decision to name tropical cyclones in the Bay of Bengal and the Arabian Sea was taken at the twenty-seventh session of the WMO/ESCAP Panel on Tropical Cyclones (PTC) in 2000.
This panel includes 13 member countries: India, Bangladesh, Iran, Myanmar, Pakistan, Saudi Arabia, Thailand, Yemen, Sri Lanka, Maldives, United Arab Emirates (UAE), Oman and Qatar.

- Advertisement -
- Advertisment -