HomeSportsPCB unveils 2023-24 men's domestic cricket calendar

The schedule of the department’s tournaments will be announced in due course. The 2023-24 cricket season will begin with 29 matches of the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy which will begin on 10 September and end on 26 October. The eight-team regional tournament will begin at the Gaddafi Stadium with Lahore Region Whites taking on Lahore Region Blues. Sunday, 10 September while other first round matches include Peshawar Region vs Karachi Region White at Abbottabad Stadium, Faisalabad Region vs Multan Region at Shoaib Akhtar Stadium KRL Rawalpindi and FATA Region vs Rawalpindi Region at Pindi Cricket Stadium. The final will also be held from October 22 to 26 at the iconic Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore.

The non-first-class tournament, the Hanif Mohammad Trophy, will also begin on September 10, along with the Quaid-e-Azam Trophy, comprising 10 zones in two groups. The top two teams from each group at the end of the group stage will qualify for the Super 4 stage, where each team will play three matches in that stage. At the end of the Super 4 stage, the top team will qualify for next year’s Quaid-e-Azam Trophy. The matches of Hanif Mohammad Trophy will be played at Mirpur, Multan, Muzaffarabad and Rahim Yar Khan.

The one-day tournaments, the Pakistan Cup and the Hanif Mohammad Cup, will be followed by the conclusion of the red-ball tournaments, both starting from November 1. The Pakistan Cup will be hosted in Abbottabad, Islamabad and Rawalpindi. semi finals will be played on 16 and 17 November at the Pindi Cricket Stadium, Rawalpindi, while the final will be held at the same venue on 19 November. Meanwhile, the Hanif Mohammad Cup will start from November 1 and will be hosted by AJK, Faisalabad, Multan and Rahim Yar Khan. Like the Hanif Mohammad Trophy, the winner of the Hanif Mohammad Cup will be the top-ranked team in the Super 4 stage.

The two-stage National T20 will be held in Karachi from 24 November to 10 December. In the first phase, all 18 regional teams will compete to qualify for the Super 8, which will be played from 1 to 8 December. semi final tournament will be played December 9, while the final will be held the next day. The venue for the three knockout matches will be the National Bank Stadium, Karachi.

Meanwhile, two U19 tournaments – National U19 Championship (three-day) and National U19 Cup (one-day) will take place from September 15 to November 13. Both the tournaments will be held simultaneously, with a gap of one day between the two formats in each round. The 18 zones will be divided into three groups, with the top team from each group qualifying for the triangular stage. The top two teams from the triangular stage will play the final of the National U-19 Championship at the Rana Naveed Academy in Sheikhpura from November 10 to 13. The final of the National U19 Cup will be played on October 26 at the Iqbal Stadium in Faisalabad.

PCB 2023-24 Men’s Domestic Cricket Calendar:

10 September-26 October – Quaid-e-Azam Trophy; Abbottabad, Lahore and Rawalpindi

10 September-25 October – Hanif Mohammad Trophy; AJK, Multan and Rahim Yar Khan

15 September-13 November – National U19 Championship (three days)

19 September-26 October – National U19 Cup (One Day)

1 November-19 November – Pakistan Cup; Abbottabad, Islamabad and Rawalpindi

1 Nov-16 Nov – Hanif Mohammad Cup; AJK, Faisalabad, Multan and Rahim Yar Khan.

24 November-10 December – National T20; Karachi

- Advertisment -